kdenlive editing video with lubuntu 13.10 on Imac G5

On my lubuntu 13.10 installed on my Imac G5 1.8ghz, I have captured with kdeinlive (0.9.6 version) my 2 hours video rec ordered on MiniDV cassette with my jvc digital camera.

In fact my Imac G5 is one of mine powerpc machine with installed gnu/linux powerpc, for testing purpose , waiting a new powerpc notebook and desktop.

kdeinlive lubuntu powerpc on Imac G5

kdeinlive lubuntu powerpc on Imac G5

Unfortunately lubuntu 13.10 powerpc on G5 proces

sor ( but even on G4 processor) , respect to the lubuntu x86 version, have kino that crashed when I try to capture my recorderd video on minidv attaching via firewire my jvc camera.

In general I use the low level dvgrab command line tool to import on lubuntu powerpc distro, that’s work flawlessly, this time I have try to use the capture function of kdenlive and it work perfectly.

After done the import I have exported all the 2 hours of my 576×720 pixels video, without any mixing, and it take 8 hours and 48 minutes, wiht MPEG4 and ACC audio,that is not a so bad time for an old hdd and an old cpu.

Unfortunately lubuntu 13.10 have not installed all the needed libs that permit us to export in xvid format, mp3 audio format, and other formats, even if I have searched in the package manager all the needed libs…

Soon I will update you about my mixing work with kdenlinve on Imac G5…

One comment on “kdenlive editing video with lubuntu 13.10 on Imac G5

  1. Pingback: kdenlive editing video with lubuntu 13.10 on Imac G5 | Humanize ... - My Website

Leave a Reply

