Image

G4 and G5 powerpc virtualization with qemu 2.0 and kvm

I have tested the virtualization on powerpc G4 running on the new qemu 2.0rc0 (released on 18th March 2014) with kvm in my debian 8.0 Jessie powerpc.

qemu 2.0 kvm virtualization powerpc G4

qemu 2.0 kvm virtualization powerpc G4

I have tested that start lubuntu 13.04 live for powerpc in virtualization on my Debian 8.0 Jessie powerpc.

I have already tested in my post of September 2013 the virtualization on powerpc G4 with Qemu 1.6 and kvm, now I have done the same test with last qemu 2.0rc0.

I have tried even to install lubuntu 14.04 Trusty virtualized but without success , hang on the virtualized machine when it try to load kernel ramdisk.

In this post I have tested virtualization even on G5 processor with my old iMac G5 1,8Ghz and work without recompile kernel as needed for G4 processor as documented in my post of September 2013.

I have installed on my G5 lubuntu 13.10 powerpc, have problems with NVIDIA graphic card,that give me the nouveau “Pixel table error” when try to start X, look like that it work only with kernel option of video=ofonly.

With lubuntu 13.10 powerpc on G5 processor is sufficient to make “sudo modprobe kvm” to load the virtualizer and then start the virtualized machine with qemu-system-ppc -enable-kvm

powerpc G5 virtualization with qemu 2.0 and kvm

powerpc G5 virtualization with qemu 2.0 and kvm on lubuntu 13.10 powerpc

The difference that I have saw at the beginning between Qemu 2.0 and Qemu 1.6 is the color of the terminal writing on boot of the kernel that with Qemu 2.0 is so dark that is very difficult to see that write, I suggest to move yourself on different angle of view watching the screen…

In any case the lubuntu 14.04 powerpc look like have some problem with my NVIDIA video card because on installation I see over the mouse cursor a square of noise pixels(as you could see in the picture below), and during the installation before arrive to the partitining lubuntu 14.04 live installation freeze my G5, I don’t remember if I have tried even with video=ofonly option boot from lubuntu 14.04 powerpc live …

Lubuntu 14.04 powerpc live on G5

Lubuntu 14.04 powerpc live on G5

Anyway lubuntu 14.04 powerpc live doesnt’ load correctly even in virtualization in my Qemu 2.0, 1.7 and 1.6 with kvm in my G5 and G4 machines…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

